3 min read
Till now

My Journey: From Finance to AI and Robotics

As I look back on my journey, I’m amazed at how far I’ve come and the exciting path I’ve forged for myself. My name is Nandagopan K, and I’d like to share with you my transition from a finance student to an AI and robotics engineer.

The Unexpected Beginning

My academic journey began in the world of finance. I pursued a B.Com in Finance at the University of Calicut from 2019 to 2022. Little did I know that this foundation in analysis and problem-solving would serve me well in my future endeavors.

The Pivot to Data Science

After graduation, I felt a pull towards the world of technology and data. This led me to an internship as a Data Science Trainee at Luminar Technolab in Kochi. For six months, I immersed myself in the basics of data science – collecting and preprocessing data, performing statistical analyses, and building predictive models. This experience opened my eyes to the power of data and machine learning, sparking a passion that would shape my future career.

Diving Deep into AI and Robotics

My newfound interest in data science and machine learning naturally led me to explore more advanced topics in AI. In June 2023, I joined IIT Palakkad as a Project Engineer under the mentorship of Dr. Shaikshavali Chitraganti, focusing on reinforcement learning-based control algorithms for dynamical systems.

This role has been transformative, allowing me to develop crucial skills in several key areas:

  1. Strengthened my mathematical foundations, essential for AI and robotics. 🧮

  2. Learned effective research methodologies and practices. 📚

  3. Gained a bit of knowledge in control systems, robotics, and deep reinforcement learning. 🤖

  4. Gained exposure to the Robot Operating System (ROS), learning its basic concepts and applications in robotics software development.

I’ve had the opportunity to work on cutting-edge projects, implementing deep reinforcement learning algorithms in simulated environments using PyTorch and ROS. Additionally, I’ve gained valuable experience in hardware implementation and contributed to the migration of ROS 1 code to ROS 2.

These experiences have equipped me with both theoretical knowledge and practical skills, preparing me for the challenges and opportunities in the rapidly evolving field of AI and robotics.

Reflecting on the Journey

My journey from finance to AI and robotics has been unexpected but rewarding. Each step has shaped me into an engineer with a unique perspective and drive to innovate.

As I continue to grow in this rapidly evolving field, I’m excited about the possibilities ahead. I’m currently considering taking the GATE 2025 Data Science and Artificial Intelligence (DA) exam to further challenge myself and expand my knowledge.

To anyone considering a career change, I encourage you to follow your curiosity – you never know where it might lead!

Feel free to connect with me on LinkedIn or nandagopan.k01@gmail.com.